RIP Neighbour Cat

coyote just ate my neighbours cat. I assume it was the cat, she has lost three in the last twelve years; one thing for sure – it wasn’t the skunk who keeps spraying my dog. I doubt the victim was a raccoon; they can be nasty, and the alarming battle outside my window was brief. Squirrels are out of the question,  they’re safely tucked under my roof, chewing what’s left of my wiring. I’ll miss neighbour cat; it was a stealthy hunter, most certainly responsible for keeping down the rodent population.

Raised in the country we listened to coyotes wailing on hot summer nights. Not once did I see one. The odd deer nibbled the vegetable garden but raccoons didn’t live in our garbage can.  Pet stores were the only place to see rats, our dogs were never sprayed by skunks. Aside from the unfortunate young bear who chased us home from the school bus, sealing its fate at the receiving end of my fathers shotgun- life was gophers and an occasional garter snake.

Now I live in the heart of a major city.A skunk lives under my front steps. Raccoons waddle up and down the street, squirrels live in my roof; oblivious to the cayenne pepper bombs I place in their way. Rabbits happily populate parks. A coyote sighting is not out of the ordinary, sometimes spotting them three or four days in a row. Every once and a while they attack a child in the park, or go after a small dog. Mostly its rabbits and the likes of neighbour cat.

I ponder what Charles Darwin would have to say about urban wildlife. I doubt these city dwellers could make it in the wild, without question sharing less and less with their country cousins. If that’s not evolution, I don’t know what is.

RIP neighbour cat.

Cities like Vancouver can be an ideal environment for coyotes, one expert says.

2 thoughts on “RIP Neighbour Cat

  1. A couple of years ago I lived in Niagara On The Lake in a suburb called “Coyotes Run”. I was living in a warehouse in a secluded part and would see and hear coyotes almost nightly. I had a young ginger cat named Tintin who was a stray that had wandered into my shop one night when he was about six weeks old, covered in fleas, with an eye and lung infection. I brought him to a vet and two months and $900 later I had a cat. This area was the first time I had let Tintin go outside as he was raised in the city. He was a pretty sharp cat and would bring me 5-6 moles, voles, mice and sometimes baby rabbits daily.
    Anyway one night I was bringing furniture into a barn that was part of the property and Tintin ran in out of breath and obviously freaked out by something. I looked down at him and asked “what the hell’s wrong with you”? He just looked up and ran back out, I followed but he was out of sight and then I heard the yelping coyotes do when they’ve made a kill. I spent three months looking in the fields and canvassing the neighbourhood around me but to no avail.
    One night I stepped out for a smoke and there were 6 of them about twelve feet away from me just staring at me. I tried to recall anything I had read or heard about their behaviour and stamped my foot into the gravel and they just ran off.
    One of my neighbours told me that shortly after moving in he had stepped out for a smoke and let out his wife’s small terrior. He told me he heard a yelp and turned to see a coyote running off with the dog in his mouth.
    I would only see them at night and their gait is distinctive. You know you’re looking at a coyote not a dog. It isn’t rational to “hate” an animal I know but if I had had a rifle at that point I would have taken out a few just to avenge the best little cat I have ever had.

  2. Pingback: One Major City’s Unique Answer To Rat Infestation | Pest Control and Bug Exterminator Blog

Leave a Reply

