Oh Canada – Why Are You So Silly?

Today is one of those days when I’m easily annoyed; not in an angry, blood boiling way – simply a day when Canada strikes me as a pointlessly silly nation. I suppose that’s where annoyance comes in; I don’t mind jokes about Canada, it’s when we behave like idiots deserving snickers – that’s when I ponder the mindset of this great nation.

In no particular order, a few silly stories on this Canadians mind…..

Beluga Yoga protest at the Vancouver Aquarium yesterday struck me as rather silly. Granted, Vancouver is responsible for Lululemon; founder Chip Wilson found himself in hot water recently when he said “some women’s bodies don’t work for their yoga pants”, something to do with large thighs stretching the fabric, combined with “rubbing”, excluded those beyond size 12 from purchasing his $75.00 yoga pants. A petition is now circulating with the demand that Lululemon “stops shaming women’s bodies, apologizes and starts making pants for women of all sizes”. I’m rambling – back to Beluga yoga – the Vancouver Aquarium, a lovely facility in Stanley Park, began offering yoga classes beside the interior viewing area for Beluga whales. This landed like a lead balloon with certain yoga purists; yoga being about “freedom, unity and liberation”, the perplexed yogis staged a protest outside the facility. They held a yoga protest – and I mean that literally – yoga poses and placards in the parking lot. Nary a peep when Girl Guides camp in this space overnight or a swanky dinner is catered – all yogi hell breaks loose when yoga classes assault sensibilities. Plain silly.

http://www.theprovince.com/health/Yoga+with+belugas+draws+protesters+Vancouver+Aquarium/9166758/story.html

http://globalnews.ca/news/970904/petition-asks-lululemon-founder-to-apologize-and-make-clothes-for-women-of-all-sizes/

Yoga with belugas draws protesters to Vancouver Aquarium

I suppose I can’t call this silly – at least not as silly as beluga yoga –  it got under my skin just the same. Driving today I heard a political attack ad, courtesy of our Conservative government.  Justin Trudeau, leader of the federal Liberal party has come out in favour of legalizing marijuana. Trudeau has stated openly that he’s smoked marijuana during the time he sat as a member of parliament, emphasizes the value of regulation, and stresses the importance of regulation rather than a continuation of failures concerning the “war on drugs”. Trudeau is realistic, practical and refreshingly honest. I literally threw up in my mouth as I heard a 30 second “spot”, undoubtedly paid for with my tax dollars – a “concerned mother” blasting Trudeau for turning Canadian children onto recreational drugs, asking if this was any sort of roll model our country needed. Holy crap.

http://news.nationalpost.com/2013/11/14/trudeau-accused-of-promoting-drug-use-directly-to-children-after-liberal-leader-discusses-pot-policy-at-school/

Peter MacKay is criticizing Justin Trudeau for answering a question about the Liberal’s plans to legalize marijuana while speaking at a public school in Manitoba.

I promised myself I wouldn’t waste a moment pondering ridiculous Rob Ford – I confess, this zinger crossed the line; in reference to his former special assistant, Ford blurted at a press conference…

“Oh and the last thing was Olivia Gondek, it says it says that I wanted to eat her pussy. Olivia Gondek, I’ve never said that in my life to her. I would never do that. I’m happily married. I’ve got more than enough to eat at home. Thank you very much.”

Rob Ford is beyond silly; the “Ford show” more a SNL skit than reality. Perhaps Ford should attend Beluga yoga.

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/11/14/rob-ford-i-have-enough-to-eat_n_4273828.html?ir=Canada+Living

Rob Ford

Toronto Mayor Rob Ford wipes his face during council at City Hall in Toronto, November 14, 2013. REUTERS/Mar

7 thoughts on “Oh Canada – Why Are You So Silly?

  1. I have been pondering on how long before you responded to the Ford situation. Here in the states the MSM has finally found something to ridicule rather than the fiasco of Healthcare.gov
    It is a refreshing change.

    • I know! I tried SO HARD – resisting and resisting – then Ford makes his public “pussy” comment and I lost my mind.Jon Stewart’s coverage of Ford’s antics on the Daily Show are hilarious 🙂

  2. They might anger you, but the Ford situation has, at least, been fodder for some laughter down here in the States. Y’all get more than enough laughs at our expense. Time for us to get a chuckle out of one of yours behaving just as bizarrely as some of ours.

    I missed the yoga story. I’m afraid down here people are so pre-occupied with the never ending slugfest over healthcare that the true significance of Beluga Yoga…

    🙂

    P

    • Anger was in hind sight, a poor choice of words. Rather than anger, I must say I find the situation so preposterous – I’m laughing along with you. The annoyance stems from Ford’s comment blowing my mind to the point I mentioned him in a post.

  3. Your mayor has been getting a lot of coverage here in the states. As for the marjuana think the states here that have legalized it show no increased usage of minors. If they all weren’t states colder than where I live I would move in a heartbeat

    • Fortunately Rob Ford resides thousands of miles from my little corner of Canada.

      As for marijuana – I live in a city with “cannabis cafes” – they can’t sell pot but you can bring your own and openly smoke it without a care in the world. Vancouver has been dubbed “Vansterdam” for our liberal views on pot. The whole debate is plain silly. You could light up in front of a cop and he wouldn’t bat an eye.

      Toronto has Ford self destructing over his shenanigans, at the same time the leader of the federal Liberals frankly discusses using pot, regulating it and putting an end to pointless criminal charges – ultimately squashing gang activity and focusing on more important matters. Our right wing Conservative government goes bat shit, making out that he’s promoting recreational drug use – turning our kids into zombies.Holy crap!

Leave a Reply

