Organic Milk Discovery

Following a chance encounter with organic milk at his friend’s house, our son urged us to never purchase anything else. Skepticism over discernible difference to justify additional cost  met parental indulgence –  we agreed to try a litre.

One sip was all it took – we will never buy conventional milk again. This was the milk of my youth – exquisite dairy nectar, complex as fine wine, a treat to delight the senses. I had found the exclamation mark, the poster child to define “organic”.

Wading through the organic maze is tricky – as with any trend, marketing gurus skirt, twist and dodge regulations to hitch a ride on organic’s market share. Purchasing organic for ethical reasons isn’t practical – unless you shop exclusively at local farmers markets – this is big business. Organic and natural, red hot buzz words  jostling for shelf space beside “free run” and “free range”. That said – with increased imports of questionable food products from countries like China ( I hadn’t planned to go here but couldn’t live with myself without cautioning – avoid Chinese mushrooms, spinach, garlic, tilapia, apple juice, honey, and vitamins – see link at the end of this post) examining food source and practices isn’t a terrible idea.

To be honest – avoiding Chinese imports crosses my mind long before “organic” becomes a factor.  Organic milk shattered my tidy little world so completely, I’m looking at food with fresh eyes. Goodbye cynicism, so long skeptical mistrust, see ya later “farm to table” eye rolls, have a nice trip “ancient grain” quinoa snickers – organic, you have my undivided attention.

Free range chicken or eggs don’t flutter off pages of idyllic storybook farms. Organic milk doesn’t flow from quaint sunny meadows. Pesticide free fruit and vegetables rarely spring from the fictional valley of the “jolly green giant”. Organic is big business – business on a massive scale.

For milk to be certified organic, cows must eat certified organic feed – sneaking in animal by-products strictly forbidden – antibiotics and milk producing hormones common in conventional milk production, are out of the question. In North America dairy cows must be “treated humanely”, one definition being they have access to open grazing pastures. ( Keep in mind, “free run” chickens need only be given the opportunity to leave industrial barns for a prescribed amount of time each day – a six inch square opening at one end of the facility satisfies the requirement ) Don’t get misty eyed over bovine bliss amid the daisies – organic milk, every bit as industrial as conventional milk production, deal with it and focus on taste.

Concentrate on end results – cows fed unadulterated food, not pumped up on hormones or kept “factory ready” with antibiotics, produce milk exquisite enough to knock me on my ass. Twenty year old Scotch to Moonshine, five year aged cheddar to squeeze cheese – and if that’s not enough – pasteurized at much higher temperatures, it keeps well over a month in your fridge.

As my son said – just try it. If “holy cow” sentiments don’t slap you on the side of the head, I need my taste buds examined.

http://www.buzzle.com/articles/organic-milk-vs-regular-milk.html

http://www.theepochtimes.com/n3/231731-top-5-imported-foods-from-china-you-should-avoid/?photo=2

23 thoughts on “Organic Milk Discovery

  1. Everything we eat these days is farmed and processed to the point where our grandparents would have hesitated to call it food. One of my eye openers was the chicken I ate in Rarotonga. Not just free range organic. Wild. It was amazing.

    • I grew up on a fruit orchard. To this day I can’t bring myself to eat apples, pears or cherries from the supermarket. My Dad sold most of the land, which has been turned into vineyards. The few acres he kept produce the fruit of childhood memories. He grows beef steak tomatoes in his garden – my goodness, words can’t describe the joy of actual tomato taste. I take one in my hand, slowly bringing it to my nose – electrifying aroma fills my head and travels all the way down to my toes.:)

      • Absolutely! We forget, these days, the taste of proper food. It’s an absolute luxury to be able to pick something out of the garden and eat it, absolutely fresh (and knowing precisely where it’s been and what’s happened to it). A wonderful experience that I hope doesn’t pass out of our over-processed society!

  2. I’ve lived in France for 30 years and unless milk was dilluted with cereals, I haven’t touched it.

    Put this in contrast with my country of origin, Holland, where grown up men will walk into a bar at lunch time to order a sandwich and a glass of milk. Why? Because it is heavenly. 

    I have little doubt that the reason the dutch have become the tallest nation on the planet (and be awesome speed skaters) is by putting extraordinarily fresh milk produce on their refrigerated supermarket shelves.

    PS: I saw Venus:)

  3. Like geneticfractals I only take a bit of milk in my morning cereal. But organic sounds intriguing..and tasty.
    I shall make mention of it to the dedicated shoppers among the Ark Household.

    On a starry note….what is your take re: the apparent confirmation of the Big Bang and the ”hoo ha” this seems to be creating?
    I have had a YEC crowing all over me that it now ”confirms” the universe is finite and ”proves” there is a God.
    Er…say what?

    As you’re the only Cosmos/star / astronomy type person I currently know what say you?

    • I used to drink milk all the time. I ate cereal, poured it on apple crumble, drank it by the glass every day.It wasn’t a conscious decision to forsake milk – I just lost interest.

      The additional cost of organic milk is worth every cent. (Just bought a 4 litre jug for $8 ) I’m anxious for feedback once you give it a try.

      • We only grocery shop about 1x a week and I’ll have to see who carries it. But will let you know when I find it. I know Safeway and Fred Meyer have organic produce, but I’m not sure if they carry organic milk. There are two ‘health food’ places in the area — one in Flo, and one in Reedsport — we might try them too. I’ll get back witch!

  4. Thank you for such an informative post. I don’t drink the stuff plain–put it in something like pudding, cereal, or a milkshake, then I’ll eat it. I might try the organic just to see if it’s any different, but the real experts are my husband and son.

Leave a Reply

