“Ancient Aliens” Wants Us To Know….

Ancient Aliens is one of my guilty pleasures. I read Erik Von Danekin’s Chariots of the Gods while an impressionable teen – the Nazca lines still  ignite ponders as to why an ancient culture would cover a remote plateau with images only identifiable from above. As much as I believe we are not alone in the universe, I lean towards “civilizations lost” long before contemplating alien intervention. History channel’s Ancient Aliens is more of a window into ancient astronaut  conspiracy mindsets.  “Millions of people around the world believe we have been visited by extra-terrestrials, what if it were true, as ancient astronaut theorists believe”.

In no particular order, some of the things ancient astronaut theorists believe….

Ankor Wat in Cambodia is said to have a depiction of a stegosaurus – how could they have knowledge of extinct creatures? Could it be ancient aliens eradicated the dinosaurs to make room for mankind?

Bigfoot is evidence of an ancient alien experiment.

Ancient Samaria holds clues to the Annunaki, a race of aliens who visited earth in search of gold. They altered Hominid DNA to create man as workers. When the Annunaki grew tired of mankind’s lust and greed they brought down the great flood – the flood mythology borrowed by the bible.

Adolf Hitler escaped with key scientists in a “time bell” at the end of the war.

The founding fathers incorporated alien symbolism into structures and design of Washington D.C.

I could go on for hours reporting Ancient Alien “fact”, or should I say “questions”. I wish there was a middle ground – a safe place for wonder –  residing between stuffy, dust covered mainstream history and acknowledgement that lack of plausible explanation doesn’t mean alien intervention. Just because we didn’t learn about the unexplained in school – no reason to make conspiracy fodder for the masses.

Ancient Aliens goes full circle from “that’s something interesting” to “oh, come on now”. The problem is, all of it gets lumped together in “conspiracy” camp – why can’t we simply agree – a whole lot happened outside history’s mainstream timeline. It may suffer explanation, yet happened just the same. I grow weary of ancient alien jokes and dismissively closed minds.

This post from last year sums up my point of view….

https://notestoponder.wordpress.com/2012/11/03/why-puma-punku-makes-me-smile/

 

9 thoughts on ““Ancient Aliens” Wants Us To Know….

  1. Can’t watch that show anymore.
    I am glad I am not alone…

    I know we are not alone in this universe or multiverse, but this “TV show” is ridiculous.

  2. I haven’t seen the show but I have read von Daniken, which I regard as an intellectual void. The guy quoted sources that didn’t exist, claimed mysteries were there were none, etc (“I don’t know the answer, ttherefore nobody can know it”). The reality of humanity is that we’ve done everything ourselves, including the apparent anachronous temples from the last Ice Age. Our ancestors, back then, were just as smart as we are. The deeper reality of what humans were doing is beginning to emerge now, and for me it’s WAY more interesting and credible than supposing that we were helped along by ancient astronauts.

    • I couldn’t agree more – you and I share a common perspective. The reason I go a little nuts over all this ancient alien poppycock is our refusal to say ancient history may not be as tidy a little bundle as we were taught. 🙂

Leave a Reply

