Musical Reflection

 

 

 

I just stumbled upon a minor ditty by David Bowie – the stupid grin and solo warbling as I dance along have lead to this musical reflection.

Music tastes are snapshots placed carefully in photo albums. Sometimes the yellowing pages are turned – we groan, smile, cry, and travel through time so completely that often, even if for a split second, we find ourselves transported to another place. Catching us unaware, triggering unstoppable musical reflection. It mirrors our lives – speaks of who we are, where we came from, and what we did along the way.

Electric Warrior by T Rex was the first album I purchased – it “disappeared” when I took it to the grade seven “sock hop”.

Not counting Dr. Hook at the race track when I was fourteen or Trooper and Loverboy at the roller rink – Queen, Night At The Opera tour was my first real concert. Freddie Mercury practically begged me to vacate sleepy town – the city had radio stations playing music all day; instead of farm reports or country and western oldies – there was a place where music ruled.

Elvis Costello, The Clash, Joe Jackson, Patti Smith, Cocteau Twins, Jello Biafra, Devo, Nash the Slash, Skinny Puppy, DOA, Ramones, Sex Pistols, Madness, The Specials, Talking Heads, Orchestral Manoeuvers, David Bowie, Brian Ferry, Jonathan Richman -a plethora of musical delights. I’ll pry myself away from memory lane with a clip from one of my number one, all time best, hands down favorite concert – John Cale at the Commodore Ballroom…

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Musical Reflection

  1. I still have an original vinyl copy of Electric Warrior ( on Fly). And just to add icing on the gateaux, I also have original copies of Tyrannosaurus Rex, & Prophets Seers and Sages.
    I think there may still be a couple of other T Rex albums at my folks house, ( in the attic probably) Slider, for one.
    Never saw them live though, funnily enough.

    I saw Queen at Sun City in South Africa. One of the best gigs I ever attended.

Leave a Reply

