Godzilla Nap

Above all, movie making is business. Forget estimated return or quarterly projections – movies require high stakes rollers, nerves of steel and considerable faith on the part of those holding purse strings. A designation of “critically acclaimed” may shine on a resume, “blockbuster” delivers a pot of gold.

Blockbusters are sneaky – gross revenue over opening weekend are usually enough to stamp “winner” on the foreheads of ticket buying masses. The “masses” seem easy to feed these days – super heroes, teen fantasy angst, and lets not forget 3D. I have a big problem with 3D .

3D epitomizes the attention deficit dumbing down of society. It is the carrot responsible for turning fence sitters into ticket buyers – an undeniable pitch aimed squarely at those who can’t fathom life without technological baubles.

I knew upon purchasing a ticket to Godzilla 2014 – those 3D glasses negated the possibility of clever storytelling. I thought about 3D Godzilla back in the day – small town Saturday matinee Godzilla would have kicked ass with 3D enhancement. Brief pondering of how “big movie” ignored the memo on “everything old is not new again” or 3D was actually cool when all we had to fiddle with were rabbit ears on the old black and white television, came to a screeching halt. I couldn’t say whether the culprit was a moment of “when did you turn into such an old woman” or the relentless chirps of a woman on the screen urging the audience to download a theater app to play a fun game of movie trivia for “high score” glory.

Telling myself to lighten up, I ran Godzilla scenarios through my head. Wouldn’t it be cool if they got over themselves and made Godzilla one of Buckaroo Banzai’s Hong Kong Cavaliers? It was perfect! Terrible monster meets retro cult classic. Computer generated effects and predictable 3D fluff would have been forgivable – I’ll go out on a limb and say these effects could have enhanced, maybe even embellished a little creativity.

Nobody knows who Buckaroo Banzai is, why waste energy achieving genuine accolades when all it takes is a pair of 3D glasses.  Popcorn gone I started to drift – not certain how long I napped, I know it happened somewhere between the supposed hero saving a stereotypical Japanese boy on the subway and Godzilla dispatching actual bad monsters.

Godzilla is a terrible movie. 3D for the sake of 3D is lazy, unimaginative and responsible for my nap.

Godzilla

 

7 thoughts on “Godzilla Nap

  1. Pingback: Wordpress Blogs - Wordpress Blogs .NET

  2. My dear Ponder, how day you say no one knows Buckaroo Bonsai! It is one of my all time favorites. And maybe the reason I’ve never found the solution to some of life’s problems has been that I’ve never found my Overthruster. To say nothing about getting really annoyed at the metaphorical John Big Booty’s in my life! And who can forget Ellen Barkin and that nuclear accident of a lobster on the torture board! (Ok, ok…. so I’ve had a thing about Barkin since Sea of Love).

    Frankly, I think the advert for the Fiat 500 is better than any Godzilla movie could ever be!

    🙂

      • I’m never sure if ANYTHING I do/say makes sense, but I have a lot of fun doing/saying it.

        Have a great Non-Canadian-Memorial-Day! 🙂

  3. Some 40 or 50 years ago, I was going out with a lady friend who was an expert on movies and the audio-visual arts. She said movies had been ruined by (1) freedom and (2) technology.

    At one time, she said, it took a great deal of literary and photographic skill to make a movie that people would want to watch.

    But with the new freedom of the screen, you could make a sex scene, and, with the new technology, you could make something that looked nice, so you could make something that people would watch without having to master characterization, plot and lighting angles.

    • A few years ago my youngest son started to watch 70s and 80s movies with my husband. He was 15 or 16 at the time, a product of the video game, computer graphics generation. It blew him away movies like Raging Bull, Taxi Driver, thrillers like Clint Eastwood’s Play Misty For Me, you get the idea. He said that it never occurred to him movies were capable of brilliant story telling through camera angles, lighting and above all dedication to great scripts, written and directed with meticulous attention to the “art of film”.

      Perhaps I’m getting old but I can’t bring myself to enter a movie theater very often these days. I find it as depressing as society’s insatiable appetite for “celebrity”. We’ve become shallow, attention deficit toddlers, plunked down in front of a screen simply because no one can be bothered to take a chance on writing novels when comic books suffice. Sigh 🙂

Leave a Reply

