Quora

I’m in trouble, as in I’ve found Quora. A friend mentioned it ages ago, he thought I’d find it interesting. Oh man – I can’t decide whether to hug or scream at him.

Quora went public in 2010 – the brainchild of ex-Facebook employees Adam D’Angelo and Charlie Cheever. Think of it as a question/answer site with muscle, a place to ask questions, follow topics of interest and exchange ideas.

Finding myself with a little free time I took the Quora plunge. It required a couple minutes to register and set up topic “preferences”. Holy crap – scrolling and clicking my way down a list of “categories” left me grinning like a fool. Ancient history, space, science, weather, ethics, religion – Quora not only pushed every one of my buttons, it bound my interests in hard cover, first edition leather and begged me to turn the first page.

Testing the water, I posed my first question – “are fairies vegetarian?” (in hindsight a frivolous ground breaker) almost immediately answers appeared (the consensus  is yes if anyone cares) Settling down to business of poring over my “home” page, I was struck by the quality of inquiries and scope of respondents. Quora deserves a peek….

Google it, register and explore my new obsession – don’t say I didn’t warn you, Quora is highly addictive.

18 thoughts on “Quora

      • ha, I just got in and the first question was “how long do you count before throwing a grenade?” Who ask´s this, obviously there is the taking out the pin, that why is there in the first place, if not who in the world would touch a that thing if there is no safety, and then at least here in Spain there is a 5 second delay until it goes off. This is fun, you got me hooked. Thank´s for the tip on Quora.

      • You never know…. a surreptitious blog reader may have chanced upon your blog and you became the inspiration for the new site…. after all…. how many people could possibly query whether fairies are vegetarian? 😀

      • Haha, spend a little time on Quora and you’ll find far odder questions:) That said, I’m hopelessly addicted. It hasn’t been much more than 24 hours since I stuck my toe in – already I’m putty in Quora hands. Not that it ever really mattered but in a day I’ve had over 1000 hits – holy crap!

      • I went and tried to log on using Facebook and Google and I couldn’t get in. Will try later today. Maybe your comment made them so popular they stressed their server. 🙂

  1. Pingback: Quora Top Question Writer 2017 | notestoponder

Leave a Reply

