“Bored” Games

Christmas at my house always involves board games, I’m revisiting Monopoly because it defined so many Christmases

notestoponder

As a child we played a lot of board games – Monopoly for the most part – more often than not, it ended long before any satisfactory conclusion. Not that it mattered, the rules were simple and it was something to do.Every family had a Monopoly game; expressions like “get out of jail free” or “do not pass go” became part of popular culture.

Monopoly wasn’t something I would ever classify as fun; the premise of collecting property by forcing others into bankruptcy struck me as vicious – perhaps explaining why the game rarely reached a conclusion. I can’t recall a single game with an amicable parting of players. If we didn’t lose interest, it was guaranteed someone stormed off in a huff.

Before Christmas, shopping found me in a game store. Years since I’ve paid the slightest attention to boxed games on store shelves. I’m can’t say for certain…

View original post 524 more words

One thought on ““Bored” Games

  1. I share your sentiments on Monopoly games played in the past. When young I hated the game; as I got older it just seemed mean spirited. Then again, what about capitalism is not mean spirited. Any system that gains wealth at the expense of others just doesn’t seem right.

    but, hey, I’m left-handed and NOTHING in this world makes much sense.

Leave a Reply

