Cake

Last night I reminded my husband not to come home with birthday cake. Waking a year beyond mid point between fifty and sixty had nothing to do with it. – I don’t like cake. In fairness to cake, one peculiar exception prompted a “note to self” – next year he can stick candles in a fruit cake.

Fruit cake, the misunderstood butt of seasonal offering endures needless suffering at the hands of Christmas bullies. Skeptics and naysayers just haven’t had the right cake. Proper fruit cakes are pickled in spirits, wrapped for weeks in rum soaked cheesecloth until every morsel of candied fruit packs a rum bomb. Yum.

When my children were young birthday cakes were a big deal. Not for candles or a birthday song – anticipation hinged on the unveiling. Sheets of  “stay out of the kitchen til I’m done” cake, yielded to coaxed pleas of “look like a rabbit” , train or mermaid. Cakes baked for the gift of my children’s delight – for myself as much as them – those cakes I loved.

A good cake demands steadfast attention to detail. Baking, the science of precise measures to incorporate air, control temperature and stoke chemical reactions while resisting fickle inclinations. Few people care about fundamentals of cake, razzmatazz resides in layers and frosting. Cake cred is style over substance – if it looks good, slice it.

What if it looked mediocre but held pie? Where does all substance, no style cake fall – squarely on the plate of Cherpumple. Bake a cherry pie in white cake, apple pie in yellow cake, pumpkin pie in spice cake – now frost them together without a twinge of remorse.

I can’t speak for pie, but sympathize with pies’ outrage over cakes’ brazen attempt at validation. Nice try cake – I still won’t eat you.

cherpumple

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2014/06/12/cherpumple-cake-pie-recipe_n_5485021.html

6 thoughts on “Cake

  1. Happy birthday Notes – have fun and treat yourself on big smiles 🙂 🙂
    On cakes, I have found that there are awesome cakes but you often need to go authentic.

    In France cakes have been elevated to patisserie and a good cake will take as much time to prepare as the whole meal but sadly, only the well trained are even able to make such a fine cake.

    In England, you can get amazing fruitcake but it requires 10 moms to meet up over a period of 2 months to make them.

    In my home country (Holland) we make a mean apple pie and other fruit pies but they require mother-to-child tuition and many years of trial & fail before joining the ranks of those-that-know. At 53 I am in that illustrious club … 🙂

    • My dad makes the best apple pie in the world. The man knows his apples. Most of the orchard has been sold, replanted with grapes supporting the Okanagan wine industry.What he managed to preserve includes the sacred variety of apple named Transparent. Like his mother, he makes them into pie capable of reducing grown men to tears. His mom is the grandmother who taught me to make fruit cake. Every Christmas we waited in anticipation for her to get tipsy on cake. 🙂

  2. Hey! Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday, Happy Birfday!

    And of course you would know that we share our love of FRUIT CAKE! How could it be otherwise?

    Even without the spirits I love it.

    I saw my first advert, or pinterest pin featuring Pie-cake-en or whatever you call those monstrosities. Didn’t interest me in the least (other than pondering the process of creating it — I love PROCESS so I frequently get stopped in my tracks by the consideration of how things happen) But I do love pie too. Most kinds. EXCEPT APPLE — apple pie I can’t stand because I grew up with people who in the process of making the pie often left a little of that hard membrane that surrounds the seed cavity — and I always got that in my mouth, or stuck between teeth, or whatever… I just hate that. So I swore off all apple pies and I’m quite content with my lot in life.

Leave a Reply

