Gravitational Waves

In 1916,Β  Albert Einstein pondered his general theory of relativity, suggesting gravity as a distortion of space and time triggered by the presence of matter. One hundred years later, scientists at LIGO (Laser Interferometer Gravitational-Wave Observatory ) proved Einstein right. Read link below –

http://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/ligo-gravitational-wave-1.3443697

It dawned on me – appreciating the magnitude of this week’s announcement, affirmation of Einstein’s theory – called for understanding what the fuss was about. With that in mind, I offer a short video explaining gravitational waves – – – –

7 thoughts on “Gravitational Waves

  1. This news caught me just as I was returning back home from travels…and kept me dreaming all night πŸ™‚ Another small grain of information as we learn more about the infinite possibilities out there. Great post ~ thanks for the link πŸ™‚

  2. As you can imagine I’ve been walking an inch above ground. Like so many I never doubted Einstein on gravitational waves but having seen that beautiful signature of two merging massive black holes changes the world. In addition to visualizing a universe with electromagnetic waves and a zoo of particles, I am now imaging an entire universe of gravitational waves everywhere. One just wiggled right through my phone. Isn’t that totally awesome!

    • You were the first person I thought of. I swear, the grin on my face is getting difficult for acquaintances to fathom. At work this evening someone asked what all the gravitational wave fuss was about, adding they thought far too much money/energy went towards understanding space. The poor man wasn’t prepared for my response! πŸ™‚

      • This is copernican stuff. Like discovering a third eye. It isn’t easy to explain why this so great but it is. Greater than images from Pluto and Philae. Even bigger than Higgs. Nobel Prize worthy. But the best for me is Einstein. What a guy. His theory of general relativity is based on beautiful geometry and these gravitational waves just flow from their. Well, you get my drift!

Leave a Reply

