Seven Black Widow Spiders

Statistically this is my most viewed post. Since original posting, I’ve learned my black widow house spiders are actually False widows – still doesn’t explain why this of all my 1,000 plus posts is the most read.

notestoponder

I spotted Black Widow spiders number six and seven in my laundry room. One through five appeared last summer. I managed to wrangle most of them, unfortunately six and seven eluded capture. This is not good. Laundry is in the basement, fingers crossed black widows like basements.

Growing up in rural B.C. we were taught to be on the lookout for two things – rattlesnakes and black widow spiders. Not once did I encounter either. Here I am 40 years later, encased in urban sprawl with black widows everywhere. Hard to call it surprising – I never saw a coyote, skunk, or raccoon either, and all of them are regular occurrences in my city yard.

This leads me to ponder evolution and adaptation of species. Why my house in the middle of a city is besieged by an infestation of spiders remains unanswered. Not just any spider, but black widows with potential to deliver a…

View original post 89 more words

One thought on “Seven Black Widow Spiders

  1. I too have pondered on this. Chances are they were there first and have been for a long, long time and the ”urban sprawl” simply grew around their habitat and they adapted.
    ”Oooh … this looks nice and cosy. Let’s move in and scare the bejesus out of the people. Sound like fun? The eyes have it!”

Leave a Reply

