Why Theoretical Time Travel Is Impossible

Daunting as ponders of theoretical physics might be, no harm comes from attempting to grasp their place in our reality. All it requires is willingness to imagine possibilities, nothing more than a moment of fleeting resolve dedicated to suspension of text book rational. Dipping a toe in space time’s pond isn’t intimidating, all it requires is an open mind.

Renowned physicist Richard Muller has a hypothesis  – time expands because space expands, creating more space creates more time. As such, time is directional, capable only of forward movement, incapable of backward interference.

Take three minutes to hear Muller, he’ll explain better than I ever could.

Why time travel isn’t possible

8 thoughts on “Why Theoretical Time Travel Is Impossible

  1. I guess I’m too simple.
    The idea that time travel could ever be anything other than fantasy never entered my mind.
    What does astound me is that there are people paying other people to research it…. In a world where it’s increasingly difficult to get people to be responsible for their own actions the concept of time travel takes on the likelihood of catastrophic human meddling. Oh, I have a headache now!!!!!

  2. I’m the only person I know who has read ‘A Brief History of Time, TWICE. I’m not buying this hypothesis just yet, based on the old ‘If time travel were possible where are all the travellers from the future?’ canard. That said, I can see that time might expand with space. Just about. 😀

Leave a Reply

