Basement Widow’s Domain

A few days ago I noticed bathroom widow had moved on. She does this every autumn, bathroom widow is always the first to go. It took her conspicuous absence to prompt a reconnaissance mission. Scolding myself for being so remiss I took a long overdue, busy is no excuse tour of my house widow lairs. “Reconnaissance mission” is a tad dramatic, in truth there are only two widow camps left in the house. (There used to be four – bathroom widow moved out and bedroom widow succumbed to an unfortunate vacuum mishap several weeks ago ).

Kitchen widow hadn’t budged, nor by all appearances had she consumed a proper meal all summer. Much as I respect impeccable manners and polite adherence to house rules, she could learn a thing or two from basement widow.

Basement widow didn’t flinch when pulled blind thrust her into the spotlight. Presiding over a berm of skeletal remains, her marquee read “this is my domain”. “Outstanding” rolled off my lips. Beaming respect accompanied a closing of blind retreat. Reign on basement widow, reign on.

2016-10-17-22-29-15-1

 

 

10 thoughts on “Basement Widow’s Domain

  1. Odd how we become quivering wrecks of remorse after destroying something we once would have loathed and stamped on without a moments hesitation?
    I may be partly a secret Jain from another life as I go nuts if I kill anything by accident these days.

    Have you any photos of the widow showing the hourglass?

Leave a Reply

