Across the Universe

People I know either love this movie or don’t get it for reasons I’m unable to comprehend. Across the Universe is one of those films that makes you leave the theatre with a grin from ear to ear. Released in 2007 after delays and controversy, director Julie Taymor’s masterpiece faded into obscurity; dead end Golden Globe and Oscar nominations did little to bolster appreciation for what I can honestly say is one of the best musicals in modern history.

A link to Across the Universe…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rmSqMK4F4xE

15 thoughts on “Across the Universe

  1. This reminds me of a weird freaky fight I had with the girl who had once been a very good friend. Actually it was an ambush, she reacted very badly to something I said and “called me out” and four of her “new” friends came along to watch, protect her, join in…who knows. Anyway…I refused to hit back because she was pregnant at the time. I took my beating and walked away (or hid) and wouldn’t go to school.

    About a week had gone by and my other friends, who this girl had once been part of for, I don’t know …six years, well they came up to me and said, “We don’t know what happened…but come back to school.” If it hadn’t been for those girls, I may have dropped out of school…at least until my parent’s found out. 😉

    • Wow. I’m not even sure how to respond. It’s so interesting how words or an image can trigger memories. Happens to me all the time. Thanks for sharing your story Mrs. P.

      As I just said to Peter – if you haven’t seen this film, hunt it down and give it a look. It starts out cheesy, so have patience. I think it’s brilliant and relevant,Lets not forget the most kick ass sound track ever 🙂

Leave a Reply

